Crochet Craft Club #8 | 2.2.24

The best crochet + knitting tutorials for beginners + a history lesson.

Hello, crafty people! This newsletter is going to be YouTube-heavy. Today, we’re diving into some handy dandy tutorials and channels that are perfect for beginners.

If you already know how to crochet or knit, how did you learn? Personally, I’m a visual learner. I learned everything I know on YouTube. I’m sharing some of the channels that helped me learn the basics of crochet.

As for knitting tutorials and channels, I’m sharing some that I’ve been watching lately. I’m a new knitter, so any recommendations are greatly appreciated! :)

The Best Crochet Tutorials

Here are three creators I really, REALLY depended on when I was first learning to crochet:

Daisy Farm Crafts

If you’ve ever searched for crochet stitch tutorials, you’ve probably come across Daisy Farm Crafts. Daisy Farm’s tutorials are clear, concise, and easy to follow.

As a new crocheter, I often found myself seeking out Daisy Farm’s stitch tutorials for guidance or refreshers on how to start a certain stitch. Heck, I still seek out their videos when I completely blank on a certain stitch!

Plus, the Daisy Farm Crafts website is full of so many blanket tutorials that are perfect for beginners. They’re easy but fun enough to be engaging.

TL Yarn Crafts

TL Yarn Crafts’ channel is a treasure trove of knowledge. There are tutorials on everything from crochet basics to Tunisian crochet.

Plus, Toni creates a bunch of fun crochet lifestyle videos that you can watch while you’re working on one of her free patterns!

The TL Yarn Craft website is full of free patterns as well. She even offers a 7-week Crochet Academy course for those who are interested.

HappyBerry Crochet

Oh my gosh. I seriously would not know how to crochet if it wasn’t for HappyBerry crochet tutorials. I know the crochet tutorial landscape has changed a lot over the last 8 years, but I still recommend HappyBerry.

I believe they’re based in the UK, but they are very clear about the differences between UK and US terminology. Personally, I find the pacing of each video perfect for beginners.

HappyBerry has been creating tutorials and public free patterns since 2009. They know their stuff. Plus, I like their amigurumi tutorials.

The Best Knitting Tutorials

Here are a few YouTube channels that have helped me learn the basics of knitting. Again, I’m a newbie, so lmk if there are any other amazing creators out there!

HappyBerry Knitting

Okay, I know I already mentioned HappyBerry, but guess what? She also offers knitting tutorials. I’m going with what I know here, okay?!

HappyBerry’s knitting tutorials are just as clear as their crochet videos, so I’ve been following along on many of their beginner tutorials.

Studio Knit

I haven’t done too many of Studio Knit’s tutorials, but so far so good! One of my friends recommended this channel to me a while back, and I like the pacing and clear instructions.

The Fabric of Computing

My bestie sent me this fascinating breakdown by Engineering Knits discussing the intersection of knitting and computers.

The video is only about 12 minutes long, but it’s filled to the brim with interesting information! Engineering Knits goes into how the invention of early computers wouldn’t exist without the good old Jacquard loom.

I highly recommend this video if you want to learn more about knitting or if you just generally love history.